President Yar Adua of Nigeria drops 20 ministers

By Kenneth uwadi-Abuja Nigeria

Twenty ministers were dropped from the ministerial cabinet by president Yar Adua of Nigeria yesterday.It was like a bomb explosion to the ministers but Nigerians had waited for the list in the past five months
Among Those dropped were Minister and Deputy Chairman, National Planning Commis-sion, Senator Mohammed Sanusi Daggash, and Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Alhaji Aliyu Modibbo Umar, both of whom were believed to be in the President’s kitchen cabinet. President Yar’Adua had restructured the federal ministries in September, de-merging some ministries earlier merged under erstwhile President Olusegun Obasanjo and creating a new Ministry of Niger Delta. Under the restructuring, there is now a total of 28 ministries to be manned by 42 ministers.


others dropped in the cabinet reshuffle were Adamu Maina Waziri – Minister of State Agriculture; Charles Ugwu – Commerce & Industry; Ahmed Garba Bichi – Minister of State Commerce & Industry; Igwe Aja-Nwachuku – Minister of Education; Jerry Anthony Agada – Minister of State Education 1; Fatima Balaraba Ibrahim; Minister of State Power; Emmanuel Olatunde Odusina – Minister of State Gas; Halima Tayo Alao – Minister of Environment and Housing, and John James Akpanudoedehe – Minister of State Federal Capital Territory.
Others dropped were: Tijani Yahaya Kaura – Minister of State 1 Foreign Affairs; Ibrahim Dasuki Nakande – Minister of State for Information & Communication; Alhaji Haruna Hassan – Minister of State Interior; Sarafa Tunji Isola – Minister of Mines and Steel Development; Ahmed Mohammed Gusau – Minister of State Mines and Steel Development; Felix Hyatt – Minister of State Transportation (Aviation); John Okechukwu Emeka – Minister of State Transportation 2; Saudatu Usman Bungudu – Minister of Women Affairs, and Abdulrahman Hassan Gimba – M/Chairman National Sports Commission (NSC


some of the ministers were said to be dropped for non-performance or poor performance, while others were axed for alleged in-fighting. , the Minister of State, Agriculture and Water Resources, Mr. Demola Seriki, would serve as Supervising Minister for the Federal Ministry of Mines and Steel Development, while Dr. Aliyu Idi Hong (Minister of State, Culture and Tourism) will serve as Supervising Minister for the Federal Ministry of Commerce and Industry.
Alhaji Alhassan Bako Zaku (Minister of State, Science & Technology) is to act as Supervising Minister for the NSC; Elder Godsday Orubebe (Minister, Special Duties) will act as Supervising Minister/Vice Chairman, National Planning Commission and Mrs. Grace Ekpiwhre (Minister, Science & Technology) will oversee the Federal Ministry of Women Affairs.”


 ministers in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs namely Chief Ojo Madueke, Tijani Yahaya Kaura, Ambassador Bagudu M. Hirse and Attorney-General and Minister of Justice, Michael Kaase Aondoakaa (SAN), Transportation Minister, Mrs. Diezani K. Alison Madueke,are also among the ministers retained


President Umaru Yar’adua (3r) flanked by Vice President Goodluck Jonathan (7l) and the Head of Service, Alhaji Yayale Ahmed (2r) while the National Security Adviser, Alhaji Seriki Mukhtar (2l); Youth Development Minister, Senator Akinlabi Olasunkanmi (l) and Former Minister of State for Education, Mr. Anthony Agada (r) watched with others during a group photograph shot after the last meeting of the Federal Executive Council before the President dropped 20 Ministers at the Aso Rock Villa, Abuja.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s